2016 Right Livelihood Award announced

The 2016 Right Livelihood Award widely referred as the Alternative Nobel Prize was announced on 22 September 2016 in Stockholm, Sweden.

The laureates of this year’s Right Livelihood Award include

• Syria Civil Defence (The White Helmets)

• Egypt’s Mozn Hassan and Nazra for Feminist Studies

• Russia’s Svetlana Gannushkina

• Turkish daily Cumhuriyet

The laureates will share the 3.0-million-kronor (350000 dollar) prize.

The White Helmets of Syria was awarded for their outstanding bravery, compassion and humanitarian engagement in rescuing civilians from the destruction of the Syrian civil war’. It is the first time that a Right Livelihood Award goes to a Laureate from Syria.

Mozn Hassan and Nazra for Feminist Studies from Egypt were awarded for asserting the equality and rights of women in circumstances where they are subject to ongoing violence, abuse and discrimination.

Russia’s Svetlana Gannushkina was awarded for her decades-long commitment to promoting human rights and justice for refugees and forced migrants, and tolerance among different ethnic groups.

The Turkish newspaper, Cumhuriyet was awarded for their fearless investigative journalism and commitment to freedom of expression in the face of oppression, censorship, imprisonment and death threats’

The jury said all of this year’s winners upheld fundamental human rights and values in the face of war and repression.

2016 Right Livelihood Award

The Right Livelihood Award is an international award to honour and support those offering practical and exemplary answers to the most urgent challenges being faced by the world today.

The prize was established in 1980 by German-Swedish philanthropist Jakob von Uexkull, and is presented annually in early December. It was created after the Nobel Foundation refused to create awards honouring efforts in the fields of the environment and international development.