Current Affairs of 24 August 2015

1. Gujarat to become 1st state to launch ‘Agro-Solar Policy’
Gujarat is set to become the first state in India to launch ‘Agro-Solar Policy’ to encourage the farmers to tap the solar energy. The new policy seeks to encourage the farmers in the state to tap free solar energy from sun, which will in turn help them to earn additional income from power generation companies.
Key facts
Gujarat Energy Research and Management Institute (GERMI) will be nodal implementing agency for projects under this policy. Farmers can use the free solar energy for their own consumption purpose and sell the surplus energy to the state run power generation companies. Thus, power generation companies and farmers will be in a win-win situation with generation of solar energy in agricultural fields. Power generation companies will set up solar photo voltaic (SPV) plants in different agricultural fields for the purpose of power generation without disturbing agricultural production.

2. Syrian woman Journalist Zaina Erhaim wins 2015 Peter Mackler Award
A Syria-based woman journalist Zaina Erhaim has won the prestigious 2015 Peter Mackler Award for Courageous and Ethical Journalism. She was bestowed with this award for her efforts to train citizen reporters in her war-ravaged country. She has trained about 100 citizen reporters (third of them are women) from inside Syria over the last two years. She also has helped in establishing new, independent newspapers and magazines in the war-torn country. Presently, Erhaim lives and works in Aleppo, Syria and will be presented with this award at a ceremony to be held at the National Press Club in Washington in late October 2015. It should be noted that since 2011, the media rights group has listed Syria as the deadliest country for journalists.

3. Usain Bolt won 100 meter title at 2015 World Championships in Athletics in Beijing
Jamaican sprinter Usain Bolt  won the 100 meter title at the 2015 World Championships in Athletics held at Beijing in China.
The defending champion completed the race in 9.79 seconds surpassing his American rival Justin Gatlin who completed the race in 9.80 seconds.
With this win, Bolt joined the select league of Carl Lewis and Maurice Greene who won the title for three times.
Earlier in February 2015, the 28-year-old six-time Olympic gold medalist declared that he would retire after 2017 World Championships in London.

4. Roger Federer won Cincinnati Masters Men’s Singles tennis title for record seventh time
Roger Federer of Switzerland  won the Cincinnati Masters Men’s Singles title by defeating Novak Djokovic of Serbia. The final match was held at Cincinnati in Ohio State of the USA.
Federer defeated the reigning world champion 7-6 6-3 to win the title for record seventh time.
He won in all his appearances in the finals held in 2005, 2007, 2009, 2010, 2012, 2014 and 2015 out of which he defeated Djokovic in 2009 and 2012. For Djokovic, it is the fifth appearance in the finals and so far he did not win a single title.

5. Serena Williams won Cincinnati Masters Women’s Singles title for second time
World number one ranking Serena Williams  won the Cincinnati Masters

Women’s Singles title by defeating the third seeded Simona Halep of Romania.
Having won the 2014 title, it was the third appearance in the finals (2013, 2014 and 2015) and the second Cincinnati title win for the American player.
Also, it the 69th singles overall title for the American player.
In the Women’s category, the title is considered only next to the four Grand slam titles.

6. U Mumba tames Bulls to win title
The raiders became wary of taking undue risks and the final of the STAR Sports ProKabaddi League’s second season dished out dismal fare in the presence of partisan and vociferous home fans at the National Sports Club of India.
The defenders of both sides either fell in a heap over the raider or hoisted him to win points. On this count U Mumba’s Vishal Mane and Rishank Devadiga, and Bengaluru Bulls’ Dharmaraj Cheralathan excelled.

No comments:

Post a Comment