Componets-1. Road 2. Irrigation 3. Drinking Water 4. Electricity 5. Houses 6. Communicaton

• It was implemented and extended in three phases i.e., from (2005 - 2009), (2009 - 2012), (2012- 2014)
• It is centrally sponsored scheme for the rural development of India started in September 2005.
• There are 6 objectives in this scheme

a) To provide all weather road connectivity to the village which have more than 1000 population in plain areas and 500 population in hilly areas.

b) To bring 10 million hectares of land under irrigation facility and to make 1.4 million hectares of additional land for arable land (for the use of agriculture).
c) To provide clean drinking water to all villages by the end of 2012 under Rajiv Gandhi payjal yojana.
d) To electrify 1, 76,000 villages by the end of 2012 under Rajiv Gandhi Vidyutikaran yojna.
e) To construct Pakka houses for BPL house- holds under Indira Awas Yojana (Now from April 1st 2013 cash assistance Rs. 70000 for plain areas and Rs. 75000 for hilly areas) previously it was Rs. 40000 for plain areas and Rs. 45000 for hilly areas.
f) To provide telephone connectivity to all villages and all BPL holders by 2012.
g) Note: All these objectives are extended till 2014.

2. JNNURM: Jawaharlal Nehru National Urban Renewal Mission

• It was implemented and extended in two phases i.e., (2005 - 2012), (2012 - 2014)

• Started in the year 2005 to make million plus cities squatter (Slam area) free.
• There are 2 components
a) To construct pakka houses for urban poor dwelling in squatter under Rajiv Awas yojana.
b) To make transportation system faster and greener.

3. NRHM: National Rural Health Mission
• It was started on 12th April 2005 to enhance the health facilities in rural areas.
• The appointment of ASHA workers (Accredited social health activist) in Angonwadi Kendra to provide basic information on health and hygiene conditions as well as to guide people regarding conservation of water.

4. MGNREGA: Mahatma Gandhi National Rural Employment Guarantee Act

• It was on started on 2nd Feb 2006 to provide minimum 150 days from 1st April 2013 (previously its is 100 days) of employment to BPL house hold.
• This scheme is both for Urban and Rural areas.
• The old name of this scheme is NREGA and it was changed to MGNREGA on 2nd Oct 2009.
• The wages under the scheme is fixed on the basis of CPI-AL (Consumer Price Index for Agricultural Labourers) which is calculated by the state government on the basis of their Per capita Income.

5. UIDAI: Unique Identification Authority of India.

• It was started in the year 2010 to provide multipurpose national identity card (MNIC) to every

citizen aged above 5 years.
• Its name has been changed to Aadhar.
• Its model state was Karnataka (started)
• The retinal identification is taken from the age group of 14 and above.
• Scheme has 7 components like address, PAN no., Passport no., retinal identity etc, It consists of 12 digit number.
• Chairman: Nandan Nilkani

6. NFSM: National Food Security Mission

• This scheme is to reduce the poverty in India under national social assistance programme.
• Under Public Distribution System (PDS), government will provide rice @ Rs. 3/kg, wheat @ Rs. 2/kg to the BPL households. 

7. Indira Awaas Yojana
 Indira Awaas Yojana is a social welfare programme, created by the Indian Government, to provide housing for the rural poor in India. The differentiation is made between rural poor and urban poor for a separate set of schemes operate for the urban poor(like the Basic Services for Urban Poor). It is one of the major flagship programs of the Rural Development Ministry to construct houses for BPL population in the villages. Under the scheme, financial assistance worth Rs.70,000/- in plain areas and Rs.75,000/- in difficult areas (high land area) is provided for construction of houses. The houses are allotted in the name of the woman or jointly between husband and wife. The construction of the houses is the sole responsibility of the beneficiary and engagement of contractors is strictly prohibited. Sanitary latrine and smokeless chullah are required to be constructed along with each IAY house for which additional financial assistance is provided from Total Sanitation Campaign and Rajiv Gandhi Grameen Vidyutikaran Yojana respectively. This scheme, operating since 1985, provides subsidies and cash-assistance to people in villages to construct their houses, themselves.
Started in 1985 as part of the Rural Landless Employment Guarantee Programme (RLEGP), Indira Awaas Yojana (IAY) was subsumed in Jawahar rojgar Yojana (JRY) in 1989 and has been operating as an independent scheme since 1996

8. Swabhimaan

Swabhimaan is a campaign of the Government of India which aims to bring banking services to large rural areas without banking services in the country. It was launched by Smt. Sonia Gandhi, the Chairperson of the United Progressive Alliance party in the presence of Shri Pranab Mukherjee, the Union Finance Minister and Shri Namo Narain Meena, the Union Minister of State for Finance on February 10, 2011. This campaign is to be operated by the Ministry of Finance, Government of India and the Indian Banks' Association (IBA) to bring banking within the reach of the masses of the Indian population. 

Services Offered-
1.  Promises to bring basic banking services to unbanked villages with a population of 2000 and above.
   2.  The movement facilitates opening of banks accounts, provide need-based credit and remittance facilities besides helping in promoting financial literacy in rural India.
   3.  The programme is aimed at increasing the demand for credit among the millions of small and marginal farmers and rural artisans who will benefit by having access to banking facilities.
   4.  This financial inclusion campaign aims at providing branchless banking services through the use of technology.

 9. Swavalamban Yojana

Swavalamban Yojana seeks to provide pension scheme to the unorganised sector in India. It will be applicable to all citizens in the unorganised sector who join the National Pension System (NPS) administered by the Pension Fund Regulatory and Development Authority (PFRDA) Act 2013.
Under the scheme, Government will contribute Rs. 1000 per year to each NPS account opened in the year 2010-11 and for the next three years, that is, 2011-12, 2012-13 and 2013-14. The benefit will be available only to persons who join the NPS with a minimum contribution of Rs. 1,000 and maximum contribution of Rs. 12,000 per annum.
The scheme was announced by the Finance Minister in Budget 2010-11. It will be funded by grants from the Government of India.


• Under this scheme 10 kg of food grains are provided to BPL households free of cost every month.
• But for this scheme the particular beneficiary shouldn’t be registered with IGNOAPS.

No comments:

Post a Comment